Delete search term


Quick navigation

Main navigation

International Office

"Today's engineers work in international, multicultural teams and are globally networked. A stay abroad during a study programme enables them to gain intercultural experience and to establish an international network of contacts."

Dr. Wolfgang Kickmaier, Head of International Relations

Autumn 2020 student exchange programme

Our plan is to allow both students coming in and students going out. We are strictly following the travel restrictions imposed by the Swiss health authorities and by those of our partner universities’ home countries.

Given the current circumstances and the still unpredictable situation, we recommend you make the necessary arrangements such as booking flights or renting student accommodation as late as possible. If you need further information, please feel free to contact the International Relations Office of the School of Engineering ( or the Head of International Relations ( 

Of course, we will keep you updated on any developments in Switzerland and at our university that might impact the student exchange programme.

Globally networked

The ZHAW School of Engineering has supported and promoted national and international student exchanges for many years. With around 60 partner universities worldwide, it commands an extensive international network which it strives to extend. The agreements with our partner universities make it possible for students to benefit from a stay abroad without extending the length of the study programme. Double degree agreements with foreign universities are in place for some degree programmes. At the same time, the ZHAW School of Engineering offers guest students an attractive range of specialist modules taught in English (PDF 214,1 KB).

Country Name City
Australia Curtin University Perth
Australia Griffith University Brisbane
Austria FH JOANNEUM - University of Applied Sciences Graz
Austria Fachhochschule Wiener Neustadt (FHWN) Wiener Neustadt
Austria Fachhochschule St. Pölten St. Pölten
Austria Management Center Innsbruck (MCI) Innsbruck
Austria Universität Wien Wien
Canada York University Toronto
China Beihang University Beijing
China Beijing Institute of Technology (BIT) Peking
China The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) Hong Kong
Czech Republic Charles University Prague (CU) Prag
Czech Republic Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU) Prag
Czech Republic Brno University of Technology (BUT) Brno
Denmark Aarhus University Aarhus
Denmark Aarhus School of Marine and Technical Engineering (AAMS) Aarhus
Denmark University of Southern Denmark Odense
Estonia Estonian Aviation Academy Tartu
Finland Häme University of Applied Sciences (HAMK) Hämeenlinna
Finland Vaasan Ammattikorkeakoulu University of Applied Sciences (VAMK) Vaasa
Finland Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK) Tampere
Finland University of Jyväskylä (JYU) Jyväskylä
Germany Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin Berlin
Germany Hochschule Reutlingen, ESB Business School Reutlingen
Germany Fachhochschule Aachen Aachen
Germany Fachhochschule Erfurt (FHE) Erfurt
Germany Ostbayrische Technische Hochschule Regensburg (OHT) Regensburg
Germany Technische Hochschule Rosenheim Rosenheim
Germany Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences (FRA-AUS) Frankfurt am Main
Germany Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart (HFT-Stuttgart) Stuttgart
Germany Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften München München
Germany Hochschule Bremen (HSB) Bremen
Germany Hochschule Furtwangen University (FHU) Furtwangen
Germany Hochschule Koblenz, RheinAhrCampus Remagen Remagen
Germany Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin (HTW) Berlin
Germany Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Karlsruhe
Germany Rheinische Fachhochschule Köln (RFH) Köln
Germany Bergische Universität Wuppertal Wuppertal
Germany Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Würzburg-Schweinfurt Würzburg-Schweinfurt
Germany Hochschule Rhein-Waal Kleve
Iran University of Isfahan Isfahan
Iran University of Tehran, College of Engineering Teheran
Iran Isfahan University of Technology, Department of Mechanical Engineering Isfahan
Ireland Carlow Institute of Technology Carlow
Ireland Limerick Institute Of Technology Limerick
Italy Università degli Studi di Firenze I (UniFI) Florence
Italy Ca’ Foscari University of Venice Venedig
Italy Politecnico di Torino Turin
Italy Università di Pisa - Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile e Industriale (DICI) Pisa
Japan Nagaoka University of Technology Nagaoka
Japan Sophia University Tokyo
Korea Chung-Ang University (CAU) Seoul
Korea Seoul National University of Science & Technology (SEOULTEC) Seoul
Korea Inha University Incheon
Korea Hanyang University Seoul
Korea The University of Seoul (UOS) Seoul
Korea Sungkuyunkwan University (SKKU) Seoul
Korea Konkuk University Seoul
Kroatia University of Zagreb Zagreb
Malaysia Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) Shah Alam
Mexico Universidad de Guadalajara Guadalajara
Netherlands Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences (HVA) Amsterdam
Netherlands Fontys UAS School of Engineering, School of ICT Eindhoven
Netherlands Windesheim University of Applied Sciences Zwolle
Norway University of Agdar (UiA) Kristiansand
Poland AGH University of Science and Technology Krakau
Poland Opole University of Technology (OUTec) Opole
Portugal Instituto Politécnico de Setúbal (IPS) Setúbal
Romania University Politehnica of Bucharest Bukarest
Singapur Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) Singapur
Slovakia University of Žilina (UNIZA) Žilina
Spain Universitat Politécnica de Cataluña (UPC - EETAC) Castelldefels
Spain Universidad Europea de Madrid Madrid
Spain Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM - ETSIT) Madrid
Spain Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM -ETSIDI) Madrid
Spain Universitat Politécnica de Cataluña (UPC - FIB) - FIB Barcelona
Spain Universitat Politécnica de Cataluña (UPC - FME) Barcelona
Spain Tecnun School of Engineering, Universidad de Navarra San Sebastián
Spain Universitat Politécnica de Cataluña (UPC - EEBE) Barcelona
Spain Universidad de Valladolid (UVa) Valladolid
Spain Universidad de Sevilla (US- ETSII) Sevilla
Spain Institut Quimic de Sarrià, CETS Fundació Privada (IQS) Barcelona
Sweden Linköping University (staff only) Linköping
Switzerland HEIG-VD Haute Ecole d'Ingénierie et de Gestion du Canton de Vaud (HES-SO) Yverdon-les-Bains
Taiwan National Chung Cheng University Chiayi
Taiwan National Central University (NCU) Taoyuan City
Taiwan National Taipei University of Technology (NTUT) Taipei
Taiwan University of Taipei Taipei City
Thailand Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology (SIIT) Pathum Thani
Thailand Mahidol University Salaya Nakhonpathom
USA Drexel University Philadelphia
USA Grand Valley State University (GVSU) Allendale, MI
USA North Carolina State University Raleigh
USA Northern Michigan University (NMU) Marquette, MI
USA San José State University (SJSU) San Jose, CA
USA University of Minnesota (UoM) Minneapolis, MN
USA Washington State University (WSU) Pullmann, WA
USA California State University, Long Beach (CSULB) Long Beach, CA
USA Northeastern University Boston, MA
USA Stevens Institute of Technology Hoboken, NJ
USA University of Central Florida (UCF) Orlando, FL
USA Worcester Polytechnic Insitute (WPI) Worcester, MA

International Blog